Confederation of Canada (1867)


A turning point in Canadian history was the 1867 Confederation of Canada. Canada, a self-governing state inside the British Empire, was founded by delegates from Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, and Nova Scotia against a background of colonization and regional rivalries. A federal system, in which the federal government and the provinces each have certain responsibilities, was established by the British North America Act (now known as the Constitution Act, 1867).

With the building of the Canadian Pacific Railway linking the eastern and western areas, the Confederation hoped to foster unity and economic progress. Although many Native American nations and Western areas were left out of the first confederation, it did serve as a model for further expansion. Canada Day (July 1) honors the legacy of the Confederation and reflects the nation’s development, difficulties, and rich cultural mosaic since the pact’s inception.

Recommended Books

Scroll to Top